4 Fixed Signs of the Zodiac and Their Powerful Traits

Updated August 26, 2020
Clock on the Torre dell Orologio

The four fixed signs are Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius. These signs fall in the middle of each season and represent the full force and power of that season. Their position on the zodiac wheel bequeaths these four signs with some uniquely powerful traits.

Meaning of Fixed Signs of the Zodiac

Cardinal, fixed, and mutable are astrology's three modalities (also referred to as quadruplicities, qualities or modes.) Modality describes an astrological sign's modus operandi. The fixed signs operate by stabilizing and fixing things in place.

Fixed Signs Are Gates of Power

The pioneering astrologer Dane Rudhyar said the fixed signs are "the signs through which power is released." Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius are the four signs that contain energy and ground it for purposeful use. The Avatar Degrees, 15 degrees of the fixed signs, are considered the most magical and powerful zodiac degrees.

Fixed Sign Traits

The fixed signs are the powerful doers, workhorses, and builders of the zodiac. The traits the Sun or other planets in the fixed signs reveal their strength, focus, and consistency, but also their inflexibility.

Positive Fixed Signs Traits

Positively, those with fixed prominent in their birth chart tend to have a great strength of purpose. They calmly work and stay on task until they've achieved their objective. They are:

  • Confident and self-reliant
  • Trustworthy and loyal
  • Focused, purposeful, and productive
  • Steady, reliable, persistent, and patient

Negative Fixed Sign Traits

The negative traits of those with fixed signs prominent in their charts come from their need to be in control. This often makes them:

  • Stubborn
  • Bossy
  • Opinionated and single-minded
  • Inflexible and rigid
  • Petulant

The Fixed Signs: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius

Each of the fixed signs matches up with one of the four elements: Earth, Air, Fire, and Water. Although the four fixed signs share the power of purpose, their different elements cause them to use their fixed traits differently.

Taurus: Fixed Earth

Taurus, the second sign of the zodiac, is symbolized by the "bull" and relates to the power of Earth. Taurus is a personal sign that is focused on the material world. The Earth element of the Taurus nature gives it a persistent and robust need to accumulate and retain material possessions.

Zodiac sign - Taurus

Leo: Fixed Fire

Leo, the fifth sign of the zodiac, is symbolized by the "Lion" and relates to the power of Fire. Leo is an intrapersonal sign that's focused on others. The Fire element of Leo's nature gives it a powerful drive for self-expression and praise and recognition from others.

Zodiac sign - Leo

Scorpio: Fixed Water

Scorpio, the eighth sign of the zodiac, is symbolized by the "Scorpion" and relates to the power of Water. Scorpio is an intrapersonal sign that's focused on others. The Water element of the Scorpio nature gives Scorpio the power to dive deep into the mysteries of life and endure emotional extremes.

Zodiac sign - Scorpio

Aquarius: Fixed Air

Aquarius, the eleventh sign of the zodiac, is symbolized by the "Water Bearer" and relates to the power of Air. Aquarius is a universal sign that's focused on the collective. The Air element of the Aquarius nature gives it a powerful and stubborn intellect that's focused on the future and the betterment of humanity.

Zodiac sign - Aquarius

Compatibility of Fixed Zodiac Signs

Modality plays only a small part in astrological compatibility, but understanding your partner's natural mode of behavior can give insight into where there might be conflict in a relationship and how it can best be dealt with.

Fixed and Cardinal Signs

Cardinal signs are active and always up to something new. A fixed sign is an immovable force that doesn't like change. A cardinal sign is likely to get bored with a fixed sign's "same ole same ole" routine, give up, and move on. On the other hand, if these two modalities work together, a fixed sign can finish and maintain what a cardinal sign starts.

Fixed and Fixed Signs

When two stubborn, bossy, and inflexible people form a relationship, they can have tugs of war and standoffs that can last forever unless each learns to back down and compromise.

Fixed and Mutable Signs

Fixed signs are all about unwavering conviction, and mutable signs are all about ambivalence. In theory, this combination should work well, with the fixed sign supplying the dogged persistence and the mutable sign injecting some flexibility and objectivity into the relationship. However, achieving that balance won't be easy.

The Fixed Houses

The Fixed Houses are the second, fifth, eighth, and eleventh houses. They are called the Succedent houses and represent areas of life where consistency and steadiness are desirable. These houses are about collection, security, acquisitions, and commitment. Planets located in any of the Succedent Houses suggest extremely important things to your life and what you strive to keep stable and constant.

Your Dominant Mode of Behavior

Perhaps your Sun is in a fixed sign, but you resonate more with cardinal behavior. Keep in mind that your birth chart contains all three modalities. So, even if you have a fixed Sun sign, your dominating modality might not be fixed. The best way to know which of the three modalities colors all your behavior is to find your true astrology sign.

4 Fixed Signs of the Zodiac and Their Powerful Traits